Best eSIM for Kenya

For a typical Kenya trip (Nairobi, a safari and some coast time in Mombasa or Diani), Yesim 10 GB / 30 days at US$34.80 was the best-value plan we could verify, and 5 GB / 30 days is US$22.80. Airalo runs on Safaricom, Kenya's biggest network, which matters out in the parks: 5 GB / 30 days is US$32. Both are affiliate partners.

Last checked: 6 Nov 2026 (Pacific/Auckland)Networks: Safaricom (Airalo); Yesim does not name its network

Comparison: Kenya

Prices come from each provider's own page (airalo.com/kenya-esim, airalo.com/africa-safari-esim and yesim.app/country/kenya), checked 6 Nov 2026 (Pacific/Auckland), shown in US$ as the sites displayed them. Prices can change, so confirm before buying. We only rank providers whose plans we could see on their own site.

ProviderDataDaysPriceNetworkBest for
Yesim Value10 GB30US$34.80Not stated on pageTypical 1–4 week trip
Yesim5 GB30US$22.80Not stated on pageMaps, WhatsApp and bookings; 3 GB US$15.60
Yesim20 GB30US$52.20Not stated on pageHeavy photo and video uploads from safari
Airalo5 GB30US$32.00SafaricomYou want the biggest local network in the parks
Airalo10 GB30US$48.00SafaricomHeavier use on Safaricom; 10 GB / 7 days US$46
Airalo1 GB3US$8.00SafaricomShort Nairobi stopover
Airalo Africa SafariUnlimited7US$45.003 countries (see Airalo for the list)Multi-country safari; 3 days US$20, 10 days US$59
Safari coverage. Nairobi, Mombasa, Diani and the main towns have good 4G. In the national parks and conservancies (Maasai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo, Samburu) coverage depends on how close you are to a tower, and Safaricom generally reaches furthest. Many lodges have Wi-Fi, but download offline maps and park tickets before you head out.
Kenya is pricier than most of Asia. At about US$3.50 a GB, Kenya data costs more than places like Thailand or Turkey, so pick a plan size that fits rather than buying the biggest one. Video calls and uploading safari footage are what burn through data.
Doing more of Africa? If Kenya is one stop of several, Airalo's Africa Safari unlimited plan covers 3 countries (check the list on Airalo before you buy). For other trips, see South Africa, Egypt and Morocco.
Travel insurance & car hire. Planning the rest of the trip? See TravelCover for travel insurance and car hire guides.
More eSIM partners. UFACell covers 200+ countries; Breeze eSIM and RedteaGO also sell travel eSIMs (code RTGF97A8D gives 5% off RedteaGO). We have not price-checked these for this page, so confirm plans on each site. These are affiliate links.

Quick take

For most Kenya trips, buy Yesim 10 GB / 30 days, or 5 GB if you mainly use maps and WhatsApp. If you'll spend a lot of time out in the parks and want Safaricom, go with Airalo 5 GB / 30 days instead. Install at home on Wi-Fi and switch it on when you land at NBO.

FAQ

Do travel eSIMs work in Kenya?

Yes. Yesim and Airalo both sell Kenya plans. Airalo uses the Safaricom network (checked 6 Nov 2026).

What is the cheapest eSIM for Kenya?

Of the partners we checked, Yesim was cheapest: 5 GB / 30 days for US$22.80 and 10 GB / 30 days for US$34.80 on 6 Nov 2026. Prices change, so confirm on the provider site.

Will my eSIM work on safari in the Maasai Mara?

Often near lodges and camps, but not everywhere in the reserve. Safaricom has the widest coverage, so download maps and tickets before you leave town.

Is a travel eSIM cheaper than roaming?

Usually, yes. Compare your carrier's daily pass with the plans above, especially in the Pacific where roaming can be expensive.

When should I install my travel eSIM?

Install it at home on Wi-Fi a day or two before you fly, but keep it switched off until you land, because many plans start their validity on first connection.

Guides: Travel eSIM guides by destination
More from the BLAZE network: AddressDesk (Virtual mailboxes) · HostForTheSquad (Game server hosting) · QuietWatt (Portable power stations) · ShopStack (Small-business & AI job tools) · WornWise (Smart rings, note takers, 3D printers) · SeasonSnag (Advent calendars & seasonal deals)